Though all Delhi University Students’ Union (DUSU) elections are valuable, some are more valuable than the others. This year’s DUSU ballot, which is ongoing today, is one of those meaningful ones.

The DUSU elections held in the year previous the Lok Sabha elections have been a sign towards the party which forms government at the Centre.

The party which won the DUSU election has been successful in the Lok Sabha election next year on the last 5 chances.

All the last 5 DUSU elections have accurately pointed towards the Lok Sabha election results. This is the reason why the top guidance of the BJP and the Congress is commonly involved in the selection of applicants for the DUSU ballot.

The DUSU elections have been commonly ruled by the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) and the National Students’ Union of India (NSUI). While the ABVP is the students’ wing of the RSS, the BJP’s ideological parent, the NSUI is the students’ arm of the Congress.

In that sense, the DUSU ballots are a better weathercock for the Lok Sabha election results than those in the Jawaharlal Nehru University Students’ Union (JNUSU), which is commonly ruled by the Left.

The DUSU is ruled by the ABVP or the NSUI just as power at the Centre has been shared by compositions led either by the BJP or the Congress all these years.

In the 1997 DUSU election, the ABVP clean all the 4 posts of the president, vice-president, general secretary, and joint secretary. In the 1998 Lok Sabha election, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) with late Atal Bihari Vajpayee came to power.

In the 1998 DUSU election, the ABVP won the 2 more meaningful posts of the president and general secretary while the NSUI was successful on the posts of vice-president and joint secretary. In the next year’s Lok Sabha election, the BJP-headed NDA restored to power.

The NSUI swept the 2003 DUSU election by winning all the four positions. In 2004 Lok Sabha elections, BJP’s Vajpayee government lost to the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA).

In the 2014 Lok Sabha election, the BJP achieved a record of varieties by winning 282 of the 543 seats, getting a majority of its own. With Narendra Modi as their prime ministerial applicant, the NDA won an enormous 325 seats.

From this point of view, this year’s DUSU election is also critical as it will signify towards the party which may increase to power in the 2019 Lok Sabha election.

With Prime Minister Narendra Modi leading the NDA against a broken action, the battle of 2019 would be worth watching.

As on the past 5 incidents, the results of the DUSU election, to be declared today (September 13), may reflect upon the way the 2019 Lok Sabha election will go.

Click To Expand
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: